If you no longer need a user account, it is good idea to delete that account.
Step 1 : You will need super user or root privileges to delete a group from the Ubuntu server. Follow these steps to delete the user account
# sudo deluser --remove-home <username> sudo deluser --remove-home tutorial
–remove-home : This will delete the user account named tutorial and also remove the home and mail spool directories associated with tutorial.
Step 2 : Enter your password to complete deluser with root privileges
To keep a backup of user files before removing the home directory and any other files.
sudo deluser --backup --remove-home tutorial
Step 3 : When called with the –group option, the deluser command will remove the group. Similarly, when called with two non-option arguments, the deluser command will try to remove a user from a specific group
deluser devtutorial groupdev # this will remove user devtutorial from group groupdev deluser --group groupdev # this will remove a group
Step 4 : If you want to disable the user account rather than delete it, you can do it with the following commands
sudo usermod --expiredate 1 devtutorial # disable the user account devtutorial sudo usermod --expiredate "" devtutorial # re-enable user account devtutorial sudo usermod -e YYYY-MM-DD devtutorial # specify expiry date